Become a fan

#MAG #BandsOnTour Tickets

This April #MAG takes to the road for its first UK tour to support up-and-coming artists.


#BandsOnTour gives UK music lovers the opportunity to catch the best new talent in renowned local venues. #MAG only showcase bands they believe in and have curated the tour using the intuition that brought readers to the attention of breakthrough acts featured in their original incarnation as FMS magazine.


FMS was in print from 2008 to 2011 with a regular Five Unsigned feature which picked up on previously unsigned bands and artists such as Ellie Goulding, Anna Calvi, Tribes and Fenech Soler.


Confirmed so far for April are Daytona Lights, Department M, Echotape, The Lottery Winners, Yannick and Tayala.


Daytona Lights

Following a year that took in a much acclaimed performance at Rob da Bank’s Bestival, and saw the boys perform everywhere from Hard Rock Calling to Nick Mason (of Pink Floyd’s) Ferrari Hangar and the Houses of Parliament; Daytona Lights wrapped up 2012 supporting Madness before heading back into the studio to work on their forthcoming EP.


Drawing passing nods to Aztec Camera, Dexys Midnight Runners and The Beach Boys, whilst bringing their unique modern twist to the 80s melody, Daytona Lights craft spacious grooves and lyrics that last. The boys have garnered airplay and live sessions on Radio 1, Radio 2, XFM and BBC6 Music, and also featured in Blackberry and Olympus advertisement campaigns.


They worked closely with legendary producer, Steve Levine (The Beach Boys, The Clash, Culture Club), on their debut record This Modern Landscape; for which they won Best Album at the Download Music Awards 2012, and received support from the likes of John Kennedy, Huw Stephens and Boy George.      


Daytona Lights’ single ‘Midnight Beach’ is released March 25th, followed by an EP on April 29th.                                                              


Department M

Department M cribbed his name from the grey and dour drama, 'The Lives Of Others' on the night he first recorded a song in early 2012. The first demo was more designed than written, on an ancient Toshiba laptop with stolen software and a missing enter key, and has since been described as ‘tomorrow’s world vision of future pop music'.


It was the onset of Hyperacusis (an acute over-sensitivity to certain frequency ranges) along with a well developed case of Tinnitus caused by DJing in several Leeds nightclubs that suddenly informed the lyrical and musical elements that would mould Department M's sound. Bitter industrial noise crept into the compositions to accompany prevalent lush 80s analogue synth.


Owen worked with long-term collaborator and producer, James Kenosha (Pulled Apart By Horses) to push recordings into a sharp and clinical focus. Swathes of analogue synthesizer born in the same era as Owen were stained with ad-libbed noise breaks and oscillations. The results of these sessions were posted online and quickly pounced upon by Leeds label Hide And Seek Records.


Department M’s debut limited edition single ‘I’ll Fax You An Apology’ is released March 25th.



Echotape have recently announced the release of their debut album ‘Collective’, produced by Killing Joke bassist Youth. After forming in a small off-the-map town in Southern England, one of the band’s recordings found its way to the legendary producer, and blown away by their sound he invited the band to his studios in Spain where he produced the album.  Under Youth’s direction they laid down 17 tracks in six days which were whittled down to form ‘Collective’.


After an intense recording experience the album has been described by the band as “a sonic photograph of the five of us, as a band, at that moment in time. Our influences, emotions, personalities and inter-relationships, frozen in time forever…”


Since their creation, art, photography and design have played an important role in the creative integrity of Echotape. The band developed these ambitions with the recent video for ‘Spinning’ forming part of an installation in the Tate Modern, and photographs of the band featuring in an exhibition at the Tate Britain.


Echotape’s debut album ‘Collective’ is released April 8th.


The Lottery Winners

Born in Salford and raised on romance, The Lottery Winners can be found pottering somewhere in-between the blithe of the Beach Boys and the suffering of the Smiths. 


The indie-jangle-pop quartet provides a melodramatic blend of momentous melodies, coupled with wistful and insightful lyrics. Although the band have played extensively live, supporting the likes of The Futureheads, The Charlatans and The Enemy and building up a very loyal and devoted family of fans, it’s very much the beginning of the journey for The Lottery Winners, who refuse to subscribe to the ‘fifteen minute, ramshackle, faddy band approach to making music’.


Debut EP, ‘Somebody Loved You’, houses five tracks which bassist Katie Lloyd says “manifests everything that has happened to the band in the time we’ve been together, particularly this last year, which has been a somewhat difficult, yet rewarding year, and spits them out into three minute pop chanters”.


The Lottery Winners’ single ‘Elizabeth’ is released April 29th.



Yannick project a sound that has become somewhat notorious; weaving amongst musical genres in energetic and eclectic sets and drawing interest from many in the industry, including the likes of Tom Robinson (BBC Radio 6) and Heavenly Records.


2012 saw the band touring across the UK and Europe, and playing a number of festivals, whilst working with respected producer Stuart Coleman to create an arsenal of tracks for a mid-2013 release. Through working with record label Love Our Records, the Leeds based quintet have also worked on pieces and remixes with a host of electronic artists from around the UK, and have contributed to a number of collaborations across the pond.


In August 2012 the band released ‘No Lust’, an aggressive, penetrating composition supported by a packed out single launch showcase, a BBC Introducing Live session and a headline slot at The Humberstreet Sesh Festival. This was followed by single ‘Be Physical’, a track described as ‘even more distinctive than it is raunchy’, leading to a number of remixes from the LOR label and beyond.


Yannick’s upcoming EP is set for release May 2013.



Fresh on the scene in the North-East is Hull's very own colourful four-piece. Tayala paint a dance/guitar influenced picture from a palette of sheer energy, ambiance and passion.


Tayala’s debut EP is released April 26th

#MAG #BandsOnTour Dates & Tickets

Sorry, we don't have any #MAG #BandsOnTour tickets on sale at the moment.

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. A list of cookies and their purpose is listed in our Cookie Policy, and you can change your preferences at anytime - Change Preferences

Please wait while we process your payment . . .